! Leave Site

Legal Projects

Temporary Protected Status Project

The Temporary Protected Status Project provides (TPS) representation for individuals from countries suffering environmental disasters or severe violence such that the U.S. grants temporary legal protection to undocumented or out of status nationals in the U.S.

Countries currently qualifying individuals for TPS include the following: El Salvador, Guinea, Haiti, Honduras, Liberia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. (For a full and up-to-date list of countries currently qualifying an individual for TPS, please see the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services’ website.) El Salvador and Liberia’s designation of TPS has stretched back to early 1990s, allowing for a generation of immigrants from these countries to make their homes in the U.S. under “Temporary” Protected Status.